A student at Commencement

Apply for student scholarships from February 1 to March 1

High school seniors and college students from the region can apply for scholarships through Galesburg Community Foundation from February 1 to March 1.

The Community Foundation offers ten scholarships, and each has its own criteria. To apply, students fill out the online application, which will match them with the scholarships for which they meet the eligibility requirements.

Awards can be applied toward educational expenses and will be sent to the designated school. “Through these scholarships, generous individuals are helping students pursue their dreams, which is good for our communities,” said Jillian Isaacson, Director of Grants & Programs at Galesburg Community Foundation.

Below are the scholarships that can be applied for through the Galesburg Community Foundation.

Becky Carlson Scholarship

Applicants must be a United High School or Monmouth-Roseville High School senior and have participated in the Special Education Program as K-12 student.

Cole Steele Memorial Scholarship

Applicants must be a Knoxville High School senior interested in pursuing an education in a vocational program. Students having a background or experience in agriculture will be given additional consideration.

Dolores M. Ryner Business Scholarship

Galesburg High School seniors that have taken a business course and plan to major in a business-related field in college are eligible for this scholarship. The student must have a minimum high school GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. The scholarship is renewable for up to 4 years.

Helen H. Wetherbee Nursing Scholarship

Applicants must be accepted into a school of nursing or currently studying under a nursing program. This scholarship is open to Knox and Warren County area students.

John E. Bohan Excellence in Athletics Scholarship

This scholarship is open to senior athletes from United High School and Monmouth-Roseville High School who have been accepted into a collegiate program of study. Preference is given to United High School football players.

Lyle Pierce Athletic and Leadership Scholarship

Applicants must be Warren County high school students that demonstrate leadership and perseverance on and off the playing field. Applicants must have participated in athletics and plan to attend a four-year college or university and major in education.

Millie Martin Memorial Academic Achievement Award

This award is presented each year to the female student graduating from ROWVA High School with the highest grade point average. No written or online application needed.

Oneida Telephone Exchange Scholarship

Applicants must be ROWVA High School seniors. Eligible applicant families must be in good standing with the Oneida Telephone Exchange Coop and/or Oneida Networks Services.

Steve McBride Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to two graduates of United High School who are residents of North Henderson, Suez, Kelly, or Spring Grove townships. Applicants are evaluated based on written application and in-person interviews with the Steve McBride Scholarship committee. The award is given to the most deserving seniors at United High School.

Verna May Sargent Scholarship

Applicants must be a Galesburg High School senior who participated in music education in high school and plan to major in music or a music-related field in college. Preference will be given to those who have an emphasis in voice.

Spread the word:


You might also like to read:

Subscribe Now

Haley Sloss

Charitable Giving Coordinator

Short Bio

Haley provides support to enhance the function and success of the Charitable Giving and Affiliate Teams. She ensures donors receive a personal approach to philanthropy through outstanding customer service by supporting charitable giving for donors and fund holders across the state.